TDX Knowledge: Archive an Article
When an article has reached the end of its useful life, it should be archived.
- Occasionally a published article needs to be:
Before archiving an article
In general, only a knowledge editor from the Owner group should archive an article.
Before archiving an article:
- Check for referring links.
- Communicate with other stakeholders before changing the article's status in TDX, such as training or other support teams.
Archiving an article
- Search the Knowledge Base for the article you want to archive.
- Open the article and click on the Edit Article button.
- Edit the Content.
- Add a reason for archiving to the beginning of the Body.
- Change the Text Color of the reason to red.
- Archived: Technology no longer supported
- Archived: Information obsolete
- Scroll down and click Update Article.
- Click the Settings tab.
- Add the text "ARCHIVED:" to the beginning of the Subject.
- Change the Status to Archived. The flag for any article Published to KB will immediately be removed from the checkbox and a new field, Replacement Article appears.
- Optional: If there is another article that you can point people to instead, start typing the title in the Replacement Article field or use the Lookup Replacement Article option to find the article.
- Remove the Next Review Date.
- Click Save. The article will now appear under the Archived Articles tab.
When someone views an archived article that has been redirected via the Replacement Article field, they will see a message under the title with a re-direct link.
The Details area will also show the article as Archived and no longer Published, if applicable.