BeyondTrust Remote Support: Safari

BeyondTrust is a safe secure and private way to allow the support personnel to view and control your computer. Your technician will not be able to view any information you do not want them to see and you will be able to see what they are doing at all times. 

This guide will assist you in the steps required to start a BeyondTrust support session with Safari.

Starting a Beyond Trust support session with Safari

  1. Go to remote.umn.edu. You may follow the link provided, or you can type the web address into Safari's web address bar. Make sure you are typing the link into the address bar, and not a search engine. This is an example:
    The website remote.umn.edu is typed into the web address bar at the very top of the page
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and enter the session key provided by your technician.
    • If you are not provided with a session key, you may click the name of your technician. If you cannot locate your technician's name on the page, refresh the page using one of the following options:
      • Click the refresh button at the top of the screen
      • Press Cmd + R with your keyboard.
        representative and session key boxes
        A file will download to your Mac and a new tab will open displaying an information box. 
      • If you do not see the download, you can find the Downloads folder in the upper right-hand corner.
        In the top right hand corner the downloads button drop down is selected, showing the bomgar file you can select
  3. Double-click to run the file. Your request for a screen sharing session will appear for your technician and you should see the following window.
    Window displaying 2 monitors separated by 5 dots that indicate the 2 computers are connecting
    • Mac OS Catalina users: To allow the remote session, do the following: 
      1. Go to System Preferences.
      2. Click on Security & Privacy
      3. Go to the Privacy tab. 
      4. Select Accessibility; then click the lock symbol (the bottom left corner). 
        The Privacy tab under Security & Privacy in System Preferences. The lock symbol and Accessibility tabs are highlighted.
      5. Click on the checkbox next to Remote Support Customer Client. Your request for a screen sharing session will appear for your technician.

After your remote support session has ended, the BeyondTrust software will automatically be removed from your Mac.