Northern Lights Gigapop Introduction

Northern Lights GigaPoP connects the statewide network to regional, national, and international high-performance research and education networks. 

These are connections to other research and educational regional networks that have agreed to peer directly with Northern Lights GigaPOP. Here are some of the main peering relationships:


  •  Internet1
  •  Internet2
  •  Wiscnet
  •  TRCPS
  •  Iowa State
  •  University of Iowa
  •  Indiana University
  •  Merit (Michigan and Michigan State University)
  •  Northwestern University
  •  Ohio
  •  OARNET (Ohio State University)
  •  Purdue
  •  University of Illinois - Champaign/Urbana
  •  University of Chicago
  •  Wisconsin
  • ACTC (Associated Colleges of the Twin Cities: Augsburg, Hamline, Macalester, St. Catherine, St. Thomas)
  • Great Plains Network (Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma)
  • Montana


  • Hurricane Electric
  • Time Warner
  • Cogent
  • Telia Sonera (International)
  • Level 3

Gigapop Participants

  • University of Minnesota
    • University of Minnesota Crookston
    • University of Minnesota Duluth
    • University of Minnesota Morris
    • University of Minnesota Rochester
  • Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
    • Alexandria Technical and Community College
    • Anoka Technical College
    • Anoka Ramsey Community College
    • Bemidji State University
    • Central Lakes College
    • Century College
    • Dakota County
    • Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
    • Hennepin Technical College
    • Hibbing Community College
    • Inver Hills Community College
    • Itasca Community College
    • Lake Superior College
    • Mesabi Range College
    • Metropolitan State University
    • Minneapolis Community Technical College
    • Minnesota State College – Southeast Technical
    • Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    • Minnesota State University, Moorhead
    • Minnesota State University, Mankato
    • Minnesota West Community and Technical College
    • Normandale Community College
    • North Hennepin Community College
    • Northland Community and Technical College
    • Northwest Technical College
    • Pine Technical and Community College
    • Rainy River Community College
    • Riverland Community College
    • South Central College
    • Rochester Community and Technical College
    • Saint Paul College
    • South Central College
    • Southwest Minnesota State University
    • Saint Cloud State University
    • Saint Cloud Technical and Community College
    • Vermillion Community College
    • Winona State University
  • Minnesota Private Colleges
    • Augsburg College
    • Bethel University
    • Carleton College
    • College of Saint Benedict
    • Concordia College, Moorhead
    • Concordia University, Saint Paul
    • Gustavus Adolphus College
    • Hamline University
    • Macalester College
    • Minneapolis College of Art and Design
    • Saint John’s University
    • St. Catherine University
    • St. Olaf College
    • University of St. Thomas
  • Mayo Clinic
  • Luther Seminary
  • TIES
  • University of Northwestern - St. Paul

Network Maps

International Network Backbone Map

International Network Backbone Map

National Network Backbone Map

National Network Backbone Map

University of Minnesota's State-Wide Presence

University of Minnesota's State-Wide Presence

Connecting the Dots with an Integrated Statewide Network


Default Sitewide