Zoom: Recording Retention and Management
University of Minnesota Zoom recordings that have been saved to Zoom's cloud storage are managed according to the following timeline:
- After 180 days, recordings are moved to Zoom’s trash folder. Recordings remain in the trash folder for 30 days. While in the trash folder, recordings can be recovered.
- 23 days after recordings have moved to the trash folder, Zoom will send an email notification alerting the person that they have seven days to recover recordings from the trash folder. The email will also include a list of recordings that are set to be deleted and a link to the page where video recording files can be managed.
- 30 days after recordings were moved to the trash, they will be permanently deleted, and cannot be recovered.
Action Required to Retain Recordings
If you want to retain recordings older than 180 days, before they are deleted, you must download the files. We do not recommend storing your Zoom recordings on your device. Video files tend to be large and can slow device performance. Take advantage of the following University-funded storage solutions.
Longer-Term Video Storage Solutions
- Canvas: to share videos with everyone in a Canvas course, use these steps:
- Kaltura MediaSpace: Learn how to upload files to Kaltura MediaSpace.
Manage Your Recordings
You can manage your Zoom recordings at any time. To see a list of your recordings, visit zoom.umn.edu, log in, then select recordings from the left navigation menu. From this page, you can view, share, download, or delete Zoom recordings.
If you have any questions or need assistance, contact Technology Help.
What happens if I recover my recordings?
Recovering your recording from the trash folder does not extend its retention duration.
Zoom stores your cloud recordings 180 days, then moves them to the trash for a period of 30 days (a total of 210 days). During the 30 days that your recordings are in the trash folder, you can recover and download your recordings. After those 30 days, Zoom will permanently delete your file, whether you have retrieved it from the trash or not.
To keep your recovered recording, you must download it and move it to longer-term storage before it is scheduled to be deleted. Note: Zoom provides the "delete time" for cloud recordings on the Recordings page. Sign in to Zoom and select the Recordings Tab to manage your recordings.