Account End of Life Reference Guides
Table of Contents
Faculty and Staff Members Who Voluntarily Leave or Who Are Terminated
The departing faculty/staff member and their work unit must transfer shared documents and websites that pertain to current business processes. This may include tasks such as transferring ownership of all business-related documents to a current faculty or staff member within their work unit.
Terminated faculty and staff may retain access to their email accounts 21 days after the termination date.
- MyU access will be retained until the last day of the following year
- Active Directory (computer login) is removed immediately
- WiFi/VPN access is removed immediately
Faculty and Staff Retirees, Emeritus Faculty (Tenured)
The departing staff member and their work unit must transfer any shared documents and websites that pertain to current business processes through exit processing. This may include transferring ownership of all business-related documents to a current staff member within their unit.
The retiree will retain lifetime access to the account. The account must be accessed at least once a year.
- MyU access will be retained.
- Emeritus faculty retain WiFi/VPN and Active Directory (computer login) access.
- Full retirement will retain WiFi/VPN and Active Directory (computer login) access.
Student Google Apps accounts are active as long as the student is active in an academic program.
For students that have received a degree they must log in to their University Gmail at least every three months. If it's been more than three months since the last login, the account will be closed; contact technology help within 180 days of the last login to have the account re-activated and the data will be restored. If it's been more than 180 days since the last login, technology help will create a new account with the same email address.
Access is removed 3 years after the last registration for non-degree students.
Further access for academic reasons may be possible with an email from the student's academic advisor to [email protected].
- Students who have not graduated and who are not registered for current or future classes:
- Lose access to WiFi/VPN immediately.
- Lose Active Directory (computer login) access after one semester
- Continue to have access to MyU for 5 years after last registration. Access that has expired can be reinstated by contacting Technology Help.
Alumni accounts that do not have degrees associated with them (such as accounts purchased through the Alumni Association) do not have access to University resources other than Library services. For questions about library access please call 612-624-3383.
When a departmental account is no longer needed, please contact Technology Help. We will need to verify the departmental account and who is calling before performing any changes.
Sponsored User Leaves the University or Is Terminated
The departing user and the unit who sponsored the account need to conduct an exit process to transfer any shared documents and websites that pertain to current business processes. This may include transferring ownership of shared documents to a faculty or staff member who will remain in the business unit. The account is then suspended. The associated Google account will be deactivated immediately.
Guest accounts are active for 4 years. This time period is established when the account is originally requested. The guest is contacted for renewal by email. If the account is not renewed by expiration time, the account is suspended. Examples of guest accounts include accounts created for access to DestinyOne, CCAPs, non-credit degree/learners, and others.
If you have any additional questions, contact Technology Help.
For questions about Library access, contact 612-624-3383.