How to Keep Ownership of Departmental Google Files
How do I ensure important department documents in Google Drive do not get accidentally deleted or go missing, especially when someone leaves the University or moves to another department?
There are two options for keeping departmental ownership of Google files:
- Use Google shared drives
- Use a departmental account
Use Google Shared Drives
Google shared drives is a shared space where teams can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device.
Files in shared drives belong to the team instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay exactly where they are so your team can continue to share information and get work done.
Use a Departmental Account
One way to ensure documents are not accidentally deleted or go missing is by using a departmental account and transferring ownership of all important department documents to that account.
Only the document owner can permanently delete a file or folder, and having documents owned by a central UMN account will mean when a staff member or student employee leaves the University or changes departments, important department documents will not go with them.