Enterprise CRM: Access Martin - Our Full Sandbox Environment

What is Martin?

Martin is what Salesforce calls a full sandbox. That means that it is a complete copy of the production system. It is used as a place for users to preview and test new features/fixes before they go into production. Martin is also a good place for users to test out any new (business) processes they have before implementing in production.

Note: Martin works just like production, so any emails that you trigger will be sent out. Best practice is to test with records that you have created yourself (with your email).

How do I log into Martin?

  1. Go to https://test.salesforce.com/.

  2. Your username will be your email address with ".martin" appended onto the end (e.g., [email protected])

  3. Login with your production password, unless you have manually changed your password for Martin

  4. Forgot your password? Click on the "Forgot your password?" link on the test.salesforce.com login page. If you do not get the email with password reset information within 30 min, open a Case for the internal support team

How often is Martin refreshed?

Since Martin is a sandbox, there is occassionally a need to "refresh" the data. A refresh is a process where a sandbox is synced with the production system. This happens about 3 times per year. It is important to note that Martin is only in sync with production immediately following this refresh, it is not a constant sync between Martin and production.

Why did I get an email address confirmation email?

When Martin is refreshed from production, all user emails are wiped and reset to a system formatted (invalid) email address. This is done so that users don't receive unnecessary and confusing emails from a sandbox instance. However, since Martin is used regularly for testing, usually a batch email reset for the users we know regularly access Martin is performed. So, post-refresh, you may get an email message asking you to verify your email address. This is your user's email address that has been reset to be a valid email. You should follow the confirmation steps noted in the email. By default, users passwords are set to match their production password after a refresh, so use your prod password to login after a refresh (you may change it to something different once you log in, if you wish).

What if I didn't get an email address confirmation email?

If you did not receive an email confirmation message post-refresh, login to Martin with your Martin username (email address with a ".martin" after it) and use your production password. Since you did not receive an email, likely your email address did not get reset. To verify your email address, go to your name in the upper right corner. In the dropdown menu, select My Profile. Underneath your profile picture on the left side, you will see your email address listed. If it is not your correct email, click the pencil icon above the email.

Correct your email in the pop up edit screen and click Save. Click OK in the popup confirmation window. You will now receive a confirmation email at the new address. You must confirm this by following the instructions in the email message. If you need regular testing access to Martin, please open a case with the CRM team to get you on the list for the batch email reset that we run post-refresh.