Box: Auto-Delete a File or Folder

Sometimes when you're sharing a file with someone you know they will need it for only a certain amount of time, or perhaps legally they or you can only have access to it for a certain amount of days. Box allows you to set a date for a file or folder to be automatically deleted.

Note: Deletion is the only way to automatically remove a collaborator's access from a folder on a certain date. If you need the files in the folder for future use, you may want to create a separate folder for yourself with a copy of the necessary files, as well as a folder or subfolder just for collaboration that will auto-delete on the desired date.

Setting a file to auto-delete

  1. Click the More Options The More Options Button button for the file and select More Actions>Set Expiration.
    The More Items menu with More Actions Expanded and Set Expiration highlighted in the list
  2. Check off the box to Auto-delete this item on a selected date and use the box to select the appropriate date for deletion.
  3. Click Save to save your changes.
    The Set Auto-Expiration screen with the checkbox selected and a date entered with Save button

Setting a folder to auto-delete

  1. Click the More Options The More Options Button button for the folder and select Settings.
    A screenshot with the More Options menu expanded with Settings highlighted in the list
  2. From the Folder Settings screen scroll down to Automated Actions>Delete or Unshare.
    The Automated Actions area of the settings screen with checkbox to Auto-Delete this folder on selected date
  3. Check the Auto-delete this folder on a selected date checkbox and choose a date you want the folder to be deleted.
    A screenshot of the Automated Actions area of the settings screen with the Auto-delete this folder on a selected date checkbox checked off and calendar options showing on the screen
  4. Scroll back up to the top of the page and click Save Changes to finalize your deletion date.
    The Save Changes button