Training Hub: Understand Course and Section Lifecycle

In Training Hub, courses and sections each have lifecycles. At the top of the Edit Course page and the Edit Section page, a status box displays key information.

For courses, it shows the Course Status and whether it is displayed in Training Hub Catalog. For example:

the status of a course showing course status and training hub catalog information 

For Sections, it shows the Section Status, whether it is displayed in Training Hub Catalog, and whether Self-Enrollment is allowed. For example:

the status of a session showing session status and training hub catalog information and self-enrollment status 

Course Statuses

There are three statuses for Courses:

  • Draft
    • This is the default status for new courses.
    • A draft course will not be displayed in Training Hub Catalog.
      • Learners cannot view the course page.
      • Instructors can view the course page.
    • Learners cannot be enrolled in a section if the course is Draft.
  • Active
    • This status is for "live" courses.
    • Learners can view the course page using the Deep Link URL.
    • Learners can browse to the course page in Training Hub Catalog, if it is enabled on the Edit Course page.
  • Retired
    • Learners cannot view the course page.
    • Instructors can view the course page.
    • Training Admins cannot enroll learners.
    • A retired course can be made Active.

Section Statuses

There are four statuses for Sections:

  • Draft
    • This is the default status for new sections.
    • A draft course will not be displayed in Training Hub Catalog.
    • Learners cannot be enrolled.
  • Active
    • This status is for "live" sections.
    • Learners can be enrolled in the section.
  • Retired
    • A retired section cannot be made active.
  • Cancelled
    • A cancelled section cannot be made active.
    • When a section is cancelled, any Enrolled or In Progress learners will receive the Section Cancelled Notification.