Kaltura: Manage Video Permissions

Each video uploaded to Kaltura through Canvas has an owner. As the media owner, use video permissions to determine individual levels of access to videos for collaboration. 

Video permissions roles. Co-Editor: Users in this role can do almost anything a media owner can do with a video, including editing captions and publishing. However, they cannot delete media or add other Co-Editors or Co-Publishers. Co-Publisher: Users in this role are allowed to publish a given video, but cannot edit it, nor can they add other Co-Editors or Co-Publishers. Co-Viewers: Users in this role are only able to view media and do not have editing permissions nor are they allowed to view unlisted entries, unless they are also co-publishers or co-editors of that entry. As the media owner, you can also you can change the owner to someone else.

In this article:

Adding a Media Collaborator when Uploading

  1. Open a browser and go to Canvas (canvas.umn.edu). You may need to sign in.
  2. Go to a Kaltura in Canvas location: My Media, Media Gallery, or the Rich Content Editor's Embed Kaltura Media button
  3. €‹€‹€‹€‹€‹€‹€‹Select the Add New button.
  4. Choose Upload New Media.
  5. After selecting the media you wish to upload, scroll down to the section Co-Editors and Co-Publishers and select Add Collaborators.
    Co-editors and co-publishers section. Add collaborators button with help text: Select users that will be allowed to edit the content metadata and related assets (such as caption files) and/or to publish
    1. €‹€‹€‹€‹€‹€‹€‹In the pop-up window, start typing in a name or email address.
    2. Select the role(s) you wish to share with the collaborator.
    3. Click Add.
  6. After completing the remaining required fields, click Save.

Adding a Media Collaborator to Existing Content

  1. Open a browser and go to Canvas (canvas.umn.edu). You may need to sign in.
  2. Find your media:
    1. Select the Courses icon in the left navigation bar. Available courses will appear.
    2. Select the course you want.
    3. Select My Media from the course navigation menu. If the My Media link is not shown, the course's owner can add it by following the instructions in Adding Kaltura Course Tools to Canvas.
  3. Find the video you want to add a collaborator to and click the Edit icon Edit icon located to the right of the video.
    1. Select the Collaboration tab under the video.
    2. Select the Add Collaborator button under the Media Collaborators heading. A popup box appears.
      Add a collaborator pop-up window. User search bar and permissions options shown.
    3. Enter a University email address (e.g., [email protected]) in the field or search for a person by first and last name.
    4. Select the checkbox(es) for the desired permissions.
    5. Select Add.
  4. To check or modify permissions, go to the Collaboration tab.
    1. Under the Media Collaborators section, select the Edit icon next to the appropriate member to update permissions.
      Media Collaborators summary screen. Collaborator has been added with Co-Editor and Co-Publisher permissions.

Changing Media Owner

As the media owner, you may transfer ownership to someone else. If you change the media owner, you will completely lose any ability to manage that media. To maintain access:

  • before transferring ownership, set yourself as co-editor/co-publisher
  • or, ask the new owner for co-editor or co-publisher rights. 
  1. Find the video you want to change ownership of and click the Edit icon Edit icon located to the right of the video.
  2. Select the Collaboration tab under the video.
  3. Select Change Media Owner. The Change Media Owner popup box appears.
    Kaltura change media owner pop-up box with the warning Note: Once you change owner you will not be able to edit this media and it will no longer appear in your My Media list. User Kaltura2 is entered into the search box.
  4. Search by first and last name or enter a University email address (e.g., [email protected]) in the field to select the user you want to transfer ownership to.
  5. Click Save. You will be returned to the My Media page since you no longer have access to that media.