Transition to Kaltura MediaSpace
The University is moving from Media Mill and Media Magnet to Kaltura MediaSpace.
Key Transition Milestones
Dec 28, 2018: Media Mill & Media Magnet are frozen
- You will no longer be able to upload new content to Media Mill or Media Magnet.
- Existing links and video derivatives will be available for playback through 2020.
Jan 2019: Files moved to Kaltura MediaSpace
Starting in early January 2019, your original uploaded media in Media Mill will be automatically moved and available through Kaltura MediaSpace. The original video and audio files on Media Mill and Media Magnet will be deleted after they are moved to MediaSpace.
All uploads to Kaltura receive captions through automatic speech recognition (ASR). The captions are considered drafts. You will need to review and edit the captions for accuracy. When videos are copied from Media Mill to Kaltura, existing captions will be retained.
By default, videos uploaded to Kaltura are listed as Private. Users can opt to post them in Canvas/Moodle. In Kaltura MediaSpace, they can be posted to a channel or playlist, or made “unlisted”, so anyone with the link is able to see it.
Podcasting is possible in MediaSpace, but it is not trivial to set up. If you are currently using Media Magnet for podcasting, please contact email@example.com to discuss further.
For each video in Kaltura, it is simple to add a co-editor/co-publisher or change the media owner. However, if you are going to share a Kaltura video to the public, it is recommended that the owner be a departmental account.
Currently, there is media in Kaltura dating back to 2012. However, our Kaltura contract includes a media retention policy to be implemented early in 2019.
The media retention policies, when implemented, would be the following:
- When a video has not been viewed for more than 24 months, delete the flavors (Media Mill called these derivatives). If someone tries to watch the video after that point, re-generate the flavors and tell the user to try again in a couple minutes.
- When a video has not been viewed for more than 48 months, delete the original, but keep a placeholder. OIT will receive a report in advance of a batch of video originals being deleted, so there may be an opportunity for a process to contact media owners, and have them touch/watch/download their videos, thus resetting the clock.