ServiceNow Reports (New UI): Share a Report

You can share reports you have created with groups or individual users.

**Note: When you share a report, all the group members and individual users will be able to modify the report and share it with other groups and users. Then the other group members and users will be able to modify and share the report.**

Therefore, be sure to communicate any expectations you have about keeping the report in its original form. You may want to make a copy of a report and then share the copy with groups and users keeping the original report for your own use.

Sharing a Report

  1. Click View/Run in the Reports application menu.
  2. Click the title of the report your want to share.
  3. Click the Sharing button in the Report menu bar. 
    The Sharing icon highlighted on the report screen 
    The Sharing menu appears on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click Share. A Sharing settings window opens.
  5. Click the radio button for Groups and Users.
    The Sharing settings pop up with Groups and Users selected

    • To add a specific group set up in ServiceNow, click the Groups tab and use the search field to find the group you want to share the report with.
    • To add a specific user, click the Users tab and use the search field to find the specific user you want to share the report with. 
      • If you know a user's internet ID:
        1. Type (internetID) - including the parentheses - in the search field.
        2. Press Enter. The field will turn red but then the user will be added.
      • Otherwise, search for a user by name.
        1. Type the user's name in the search field.
        2. Click the magnifying glass icon.
        3. Find the user and click their internet ID. The user is immediately added to the Users list.
  6. Click OK. The Share pop-up box will disappear.
  7. Click Save to save the Sharing settings.

Once you have shared the report, group members and individual users will be able View/Run the Report.

Removing a Group or User from a Shared report

  1. Click View/Run in the Reports application menu.
  2. Click on the title of the report you are sharing.
  3. Click on the Sharing button.
    The Sharing icon highlighted on the report screen
    The Sharing menu appears on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click Share. The Sharing settings window opens.
  5. Click the radio button for Groups and Users if necessary.
    • Select the Groups tab to remove groups.
    • Select the Users tab to remove individual users.
  6. Select the name of the group or user you want to remove.
  7. Click the X button to the right. The group or user disappears.
    A Group highlighted in the list on the Sharing Settings pop up with the X button to remove the Group highlighted
  1. Click OK. The Share window disappears.
  2. Click Save to save the Sharing Settings.

Additional Information