ServiceNow Reports: Export/Download a Report

You can export and download a report to share with others who do not have access to ServiceNow reports. 

Exporting a List view to an Excel or CSV file

  1. Right-click on one of the column headings of the report (two-finger tap on a Mac trackpad).
    • It does not matter which heading you choose in a list report. All columns will be exported.
  2. Select Export.
  3. Select the desired report output type.
    The Cascading menu with Export highlighted and export options showing in a secondary menu
  4. Click Download after the data export finishes to download the file.

Downloading images or PDFs of reports 

  1. Run the report. 
  2. Download an image or PDF of the report.
    • Bar/pie charts - Bar or pie charts can be saved as .jpg or .png files as long as there are enough criteria to split into pie "slices."
      1. Mouse over the chart to reveal the Chart context menu button in the upper right corner of the chart. 
      2. Click the Chart context menu button (if you are using a small browser window, you will have to scroll all the way to the far right side of the chart to see the Chart Context Menu button).
      3. Select the desired image type: PNG or JPEG.
        Active chart context menu button. This button is located in the upper right corner of the chart.
    • List/table 
      1. Click Share near the bottom of the Configuration tab. The Sharing panel slides out on the right side of the window.
        Share button at the bottom of the configuration column
      2. Select Export to PDF
      3. Choose the desired Orientation and Delivery options
        export to PDF options box showing Orientation options and Delivery options
      4. Click Export.
  3. Click Download after the data export finishes to download the file.
    ServiceNow Export Complete window.

Comply with University of Minnesota Data Security and Retention Policies

  • All data downloaded from ServiceNow must be stored in either Box or Google Drive.
  • Any downloaded information must be deleted from the user's individual computer after being moved over to the secure storage location (Box or Google Drive).
  • You may retain data in the secure storage location (Box or Google Drive) until it is obsolete, superseded or administrative value is lost. You are responsible to implement an annual review process to determine the data's obsolescence, supersession, or administrative value and manage or delete data accordingly.

Additional Information