Moodle 3.2: Using the Assignment Grading Workflow

Applies to: Moodle 3.2

The Assignment Grading Workflow is a feature in Assignments which allows instructors to determine when students receive grading notifications. When used, each student's grade progresses through a series of phases: Not graded, In grading, Grading completed, In review, Ready for release, and Released. 

In this article:

Change the workflow state for multiple submissions

You can change the state of multiple assignments from one phase to another using the With selected.. menu. However, all selected items must be in the same phase to move to a new phase together.

The example below demonstrates moving all submissions to the In Grading phase.

  1. At the course site homepage, click the assignment link.
  2. Click View all submissions.
  3. Use the Filter (bottom of the page in 3.2) to show only Submitted assignments.
  4. To make the first change to In Grading, leave the Workflow Filter at No Filter.
  5. Select students with the same submission state by checking the box in front of their name.
    1. To select all students, scroll to the top of the assignments table and check the box just under Select.
    2. Deselect any students not in the same workflow state.
  6. Scroll to the bottom of the list of students. Use the With selected... menu
    1. Select Set grading workflow state.
    2. Click Go.
  7. A pop-up will appear asking whether to set the grading workflow state for all submissions. Click OK.
  8. Select the In Grading workflow state. Also select whether to Notify Students. (The default setting is NO.)
  9. Then click Save Changes.

Change the workflow state for individual submissions

The grader can do individual grading and workflow state changes in both Detailed Grading and Quick Grading view.

Detail grading view

  1. From the site homepage, click the assignment link.
  2. Click View all submissions
  3. Click Grade for the first student.
  4. Assign a grade to the student. Add any feedback or feedback files and change the Grading workflow state to one of subsequent phases:
    • Grading completed - Use this if another grader in the course will review the initial grade.
    • In Review - Use this to let other graders know that you are reviewing the grade for this student's submission.
    • Ready for release - Use this to indicate that the grading is complete, but will not send a notification to the student
  5. Select whether to Notify Students. (The default setting is NO.)
  6. Click Save and show next.

Quick grading view

  1. From the site homepage, click the Assignment link.
  2. Click View all submissions
  3. Select the Quick Grading option (bottom of the page in 3.2) if it is not already selected.
  4. Assign a grade (score) to a student. Add any text feedback. Then change the Grading workflow state to one of the following phases:
    1. Grading completed - Use this if another grader in the course will review the initial grade.
    2. In Review - Use this to let other graders know that you are reviewing the grade for this student's submission.
    3. Ready for release - Use this to indicate that the grading is complete, but will not publish the grade.
    4. Released - Use this to release the grade and comments to the student Grade tool.
  5. At the bottom of the page choose to Notify Students - No/Yes. (No is the default setting.)
  6. Click Save all quick grading changes when finished.

Release grades to students and notify by email

  1. From the site homepage, click the assignment link.
  2. Click View all submissions.
  3. Use the Workflow filter at the top of the page to show all submissions which are in the Ready for release phase.
  4. Select the students (or select all) whom you want to change the Workflow State.
  5. From the With selected . . . menu choose Set workflow grading state. Click GO.
  6. If asked to "Change the workflow grading state for all selected users" choose OK.
  7. On the Set workflow grading state page:
    1. Choose a grading state.
    2. Decide whether to "Notify student" - No/Yes
      *Setting "Notify Students" to Yes will send an email alerting students that they have feedback ready to be reviewed. Setting "Notify Students" to No will not send an email alert to students, but students can see the feedback once they are in the assignment feedback area.
  8. Click Save changes.