Moodle 3.2: Backup Content or a Course Site

Applies to: Moodle 3.2 and all other versions of Moodle

An instructor or designer can create a backup of a Moodle course site with some or all of its parts by using the course backup feature. You can download an existing backup for safekeeping, for use on another Moodle site, or in preparation for migrating the course to Canvas. (See Download a Moodle Backup (mbz) File.)

Backing up a course site without student data

  1. Go to the course homepage.
  2. Find the Administration block:
    • Click Backup.
  3. Uncheck Include enrolled usersSeveral items gray out.
    • Uncheck any other Backup settings you don't wish to include.
  4. Scroll down and click Next.
  5. Uncheck any items or sections you don't wish to include in the backup.
  6. Scroll down and click Next.
  7. Scroll down and click Perform backup. A Perform Backup progress bar will display.
  8. Click Continue when you see that the backup file was successfully created. The backup file will appear at the top of the list under User private backup area. It will have an mbz extension.
  9. Return to your course homepage.

Backing up an entire course site, including student data

  1. Go to the course homepage.
  2. Find the Administration block:
    • Click Backup.
  3. Scroll down and click Jump to final step. A Perform Backup progress bar will display.
  4. Click Continue when you see that the backup file was successfully created. Moodle will display a page with a variety of options related to course backups.
    • To rename or delete backup files, click Manage backup files.
  5. Return to your course homepage.

Additional resources