Drupal Enterprise 7: Stop Displaying Content on a Landing Page

The following instructions are for websites using the default UMN Drupal Enterprise 7 (DE7) configuration.

These instructions are the same for any page on your site; however, you should rarely edit the display of content on a single page on your site. Most of the time, when you need to change the display of content, you should make those changes for the content type as a whole. Landing pages are the exception to this rule of thumb.

Additionally, your role in Drupal may not have the proper permissions to complete the task. Contact your site administrator for additional information.

Directions

  1. Click Menu in the Administrator toolbar.
    Drupal administrator toolbar. The Menu option is highlighted. 
     
  2. Click Content in the Menu toolbar.
    Screenshot of the first part of the menu toolbar. Content is highlighted.
     
  3. Use filters, if desired, at the top of the Content page to locate the page you want to edit by entering Title, Type, Author, Published status (Yes or No), or Vocabulary and clicking Apply.
    Drupal content filters include Title, Type, Author, Published, and Vocabulary.
     
  4. Click the page title link in the Title column for the page you want to edit.
    Screenshot of the Content page with the Title column highlighted.
     
  5. Click the Customize display tab.
    Node tabbed menu. The tabbed menu includes View, Edit, Revisions, Convert, and Customize display. Customize display is highlighted. 
     
  6. Click content link in the Operations column next to Full page overrideYou should see a diagram of regions and panels that match the general layout of the content type your editing and the arrangement of content being displayed on that content type.
    Full page override options include settings, context, layout, content, and breadcrumbs. Content is highlighted.

  7. Click the gear Gear icon. icon for the pane that is displaying the content you want to hide.
  8. Either click Disable this pane or click Remove.
    • Disable this pane hides the pane from public view, but it remains part of the panel and retains its configuration settings.
    • Remove deletes the pane from the panel. All configuration settings for the pane are lost and if you want to display the content again, you will need to add and configure the pane again.
  9. Choose the publishing state from the Change State drop-down menu near the bottom of the page (required).
    Change State drop-down menu. The options include Draft, Needs Review, and Published. Published is highlighted. 
     
    • Draft: This state keeps the display change(s) private. You can keep working on the page without having the public see it.
    • Needs Review: This state keeps the display change(s) private, but flags the page as ready for editing.
    • Published: This state makes the display change(s) public.
       
  10. Enter a message to state your changes in the Log message for this state change field (required).
  11. Click SaveYou should see a status message saying The settings have been updated.
  12. Click the View tab to see the changes to the page.
    • Note: If you chose Draft or Needs Review from the Change State drop-down, click View Draft instead.

Additional Information