Drupal Enterprise 7: Edit the Permissions for an Existing Role

Roles are how Drupal manages permissions. When you make major changes to your site (e.g. add a new content type, enable a module, etc.), you will often need to update permissions for your site's user roles as well.

This is the eighth of ten tasks in Creating a New Content Type. The following instructions are for websites using the default UMN Drupal Enterprise 7 (DE7) configuration.

Additionally, your role in Drupal may not have access to this tool. Contact your site administrator for additional information.

Directions

  1. Click Menu in the Administrator toolbar.
  2. Click People in the Menu toolbar.
  3. Click the Permissions tab.
    The People page with the Permissions tab highlighted.
     
  4. Click Roles. You will see a list of the roles in your site.
    The People permissions tab with the Roles button highlighted.
     
  5. Click edit permissions for the role you want to update.
    Screenshot of the Roles page with Edit Permissions highlighted.
     
  6. Check or Uncheck the Editor checkboxes for each permission you wish to add or remove, respectively.
  7. Click Save permissions.

Next Task in Creating a New Content Type

Additional Information