News & Alerts

Title

TrainingHub: Add Notifications to Your Sections

May 24, 2018
Add Notifications to Your Sections

Today’s MicroLearning focuses on adding notifications to your sections.

Default Notifications

Training Hub has default notifications that are automatically available in each section. With the default notifications, learners receive emails from Training Hub when they enroll, when they complete their training, when they’re added to the waitlist, etc. As a training administrator, you can edit the notifications, remove any of the notifications, or add a new notification.

Getting to your Notifications

Notifications exist at the section level, allowing you to customize your message for each section. Here’s how to get there:

  1. Navigate to Training Hub (training.umn.edu).
  2. Go to the section where you want to change notifications:
    1. Click Admin Console, and then Manage Courses.
    2. Click Edit for the appropriate course.
    3. Scroll down to Sections.
    4. Click Edit next to the section.
  3. Scroll down to the Notifications area.

There are 8 default notifications. For most notifications, you can only have one of each type for each section, but you can have multiple for Instructor Led Training (ILT) Start Date and Training Due.

  • ILT Start Date Reminder - sent to all enrolled learners five days before the start date of an Instructor-led training section. If there is no ILT component for the section, this email is not sent.
    • You can add additional start date reminders using the Section start date/time trigger. 


  • Training Due - sent to all enrolled and in progress learners two weeks before the due date. Due dates can be set when a learner is enrolled by an administrator, so they may be different for different learners. If the learner does not have a due date for the training, this email is not sent. You can add additional training due reminders using the Due Date trigger.
  • Training Completion - sent when a learner completes a training.
  • Canceled Section Notice - sent to all enrolled, in progress, and waitlisted learners when a section is canceled (for example: instructor illness).
  • Waitlist Confirmation - sent to a learner when they are added to the waitlist for the section.
  • Enrollment Confirmation - sent to a learner when they are enrolled in the section. If a due date has been assigned to the learner, it is included in this email.
  • Withdraw from Section Confirmation - sent to a learner when they withdraw themselves or are withdrawn by an admin from a section.
  • Withdraw from Waitlist Confirmation - sent to a learner when they are withdrawn from the waitlist for a section.

See Default Section Notifications for more information.

Editing a Notification

All notifications will automatically insert the learner’s first and last names, and provide a link to Training Hub or directly to the course in the footer.

  1. Click Edit next to any notification to:
    1. Add your contact information.
    2. Change when the ILT Reminder or Training Due emails are sent.
      New notification window
    3. Add any other specifics you would like to include. Scroll down and click Update Notification when you are done.

Adding a New Notification

You can create additional start date and due date reminders. If you have removed any default notifications, you can create a new notification with the same trigger.
All notifications will automatically insert the learner’s first and last names, and provide a link to Training Hub or directly to the course in the footer.

  1. Click Add Notification.
  2. Enter all the required fields:
    1. For Training event email trigger, you will not be able to re-use a trigger that is already in use for this section.
    2. Send a copy to learner’s supervisor(s) is not yet functional, but will be ready by June 2.
  3. Scroll down and click Update Notification when you are done.

See Create, Edit, Remove Section Notifications for more information.

Copying Sections

If you copy a section, the configuration of the section is copied, including all of the notifications. Copying a section saves time since all of the customizations you may have done to the notifications are copied into the new section.

Migration Reminders

As you work on migrating your courses to Training Hub, remember to:

Get support by

Communicate with your learners about the transition.