If you have turned on the manual self completion option under the Course Completion settings (see Course Completion Overview), you must add the Self completion block to your site so that students can manually check that they have completed the course.
Adding a self completion block
Go to the course homepage and click Turn editing on.
Look for Add a Block at the bottom of the left column.
From the Add... menu, select Self completion. The page will reload, and the Self completion block will appear on the left side of the page above Add a Block. Note: If Self completion does not appear in the Add a block menu, it has already been added to the course.
Click Turn editing off.
Instructors and designers will see You are currently not being tracked by completion in this course.
Students will see a block on their course homepage with a link have them mark the course as complete when finished.