You are here

Title

Google Account End of Life Policies

Faculty & Staff Accounts

Faculty & Staff Members Who Voluntarily Leave or Who Are Terminated

The departing faculty/staff member and their work unit must transfer shared documents and websites that pertain to current business processes. This may include tasks such as transferring ownership of all business related documents to a current faculty or staff member within his or her work unit. If the terminated faculty or staff member is re-hired within 90 days, the account may be reactivated with no data loss. At 91 days, all data is unrecoverable. 

Terminated faculty and staff may retain access to their email accounts up to two weeks after the termination date, depending on the nature of the termination.

Faculty & Staff Retirees

The departing staff member and his or her work unit must transfer any shared documents and websites that pertain to current business processes through exit processing. This may include transferring ownership of all business related documents to a current staff member within his or her unit. The retiree will retain lifetime access to the account. 

Note: The account must be accessed at least once every three months through the Web Interface to keep the email account active.

Emeritus Faculty

These faculty members, though retired, have the option to return and instruct courses. These accounts will remain listed as active faculty in the directory, and the faculty person will retain lifetime access to the account.

Student Accounts 

Student Google Apps accounts are active as long as the student is active in an academic program. The account remains available for six consecutive semesters after their most recent program activation. After this time, the account is suspended if the student does not register for classes. If an account has been suspended for 90 days, the account is deleted and the data within it is not recoverable.

Note: The account is suspended immediately if a student is administratively separated or if a student drops all registered courses during their initial semester.

Graduated Students

Graduated students may retain lifetime access to their Google Apps accounts, however, see the Alumni Accounts section below for important notes on how to retain this access.

Note: The account must be accessed at least once every three months through the Web Interface to keep the email account active.

Alumni Accounts with Degrees

Accounts which are inactive will be suspended after 90 days. As long as the account is accessed at least once every 90 days through the Web Interface, the account will remain active.

If the account remains suspended for 90 days, it is then deleted. All data (email) associated with the account will be deleted and cannot be recovered. If the user contacts the Technology Helpline after the account is deleted, the account can be recreated without any content.

Note: Accounts are only deleted after 90 days of inactivity + 90 days of suspension, or 180 days total. Within those 180 days the account is fully recoverable.

Alumni accounts that do not have degrees associated with them (Purchased through the Alumni Association) do not have access to University resources.

Departmental Accounts

When a departmental account is no longer needed, please email help@umn.edu. They will open an incident with the OIT Accounts Office, who will then suspend the account. If the account is needed again within 90 days, it may be reactivated with no data loss. After 90 days, the account data is unrecoverable.

Sponsored Accounts

Sponsored User Leaves the University or Is Terminated

The departing user and the unit who sponsored the account need to conduct an exit process to transfer any shared documents and websites that pertain to current business processes. This may include transferring ownership of shared documents to a faculty or staff member who will remain in the business unit. Th account is then suspended. If the account needs to be reactivated within 90 days, all data is recoverable. Beyond 90 days the data is unrecoverable.

Sponsored Accounts Renewal

All sponsored accounts are only authorized on a short-term basis. This time period is established when the account is originally requested. Messaging and Identity Services will contact the original department sponsor for the account for confirmation whether the account should be renewed. If yes, no action is taken. if no, the account is suspended for 90 days then deleted. All questions for Messaging and Identity Services may be directed to help@umn.edu.

 

ServiceNow Article ID

KB0015026