Account End of Life Policies
Table of Contents
Faculty and Staff Members Who Voluntarily Leave or Who Are Terminated
Google Apps: The departing faculty/staff member and their work unit must transfer shared documents and websites that pertain to current business processes. This may include tasks such as transferring ownership of all business-related documents to a current faculty or staff member within their work unit. If the terminated faculty or staff member is re-hired within 90 days, the account may be reactivated with no data loss.
Terminated faculty and staff may retain access to their email accounts up to two weeks after the termination date, depending on the nature of the termination.
Other Access: MyU access will be retained until the year after the current taxed year. Active Directory (computer login) as well as library access is removed within 24 hours of job termination. WiFi/VPN access is removed within two weeks of job termination, depending on Human Resources.
Faculty and Staff Retirees, Emeritus Faculty
Google Apps: The departing staff member and their work unit must transfer any shared documents and websites that pertain to current business processes through exit processing. This may include transferring ownership of all business-related documents to a current staff member within their unit. The retiree will retain lifetime access to the account.
The account must be accessed at least once every three months through the Web Interface to keep the email account active.
Other Access: MyU access will be retained indefinitely. Emeritus faculty retain WiFi/VPN and Active Directory (computer login) for as long as they maintain emeritus status. Full retirement will lose these options within two weeks of retirement, depending on Human Resources. Library access questions can be directed to 612-624-3383.
Google Apps: Student Google Apps accounts are active as long as the student is active in an academic program. Access is lost after registration is missed for one semester. The account remains available for six consecutive semesters after their most recent program activation. After this time, the account is deleted and the data is not recoverable.
The account is suspended immediately if a student is administratively separated or if a student drops all registered courses during their initial semester.
Further access for academic reasons may be possible with an email from the student's academic advisor to email@example.com.
Other Access: Students who do not graduate lose access to WiFi/VPN and library access a week after registration closes if no classes have been selected. Access to MyU will continue until the semester after last registration. Access can be reinstated by contacting Admissions at 612-625-2008.
Google Apps: Accounts which are inactive will be suspended after 90 days. As long as the account is accessed at least once every 90 days through the Web Interface, the account will remain active. Internet access will not continue beyond graduating semester.
If the account remains suspended for 90 days, it is then deleted. All data (email) associated with the account will be deleted and cannot be recovered. Accounts are only deleted after 90 days of inactivity + 90 days of suspension, or 180 days total. Within those 180 days the account is fully recoverable. If the user contacts the Technology Helpline after the account is deleted, the account can be recreated without any content.
Other Access: Graduated students have indefinite access to MyU. After OneStop marks the account has holding a degree, WiFi/VPN, library, and Active Directory (computer login) access is rescinded within 24 hours.
Extending Email Life via Leave of Absence (LOA)
Access can be extended if the student has filled out an official Leave of Absence. These must be submitted every semester the student is away in order to prevent expiration.
Alumni accounts that do not have degrees associated with them (Purchased through the Alumni Association) do not have access to University resources other than Library services. For questions, please call 612-624-3383.
When a departmental account is no longer needed, please call 1-HELP or email firstname.lastname@example.org. We will need to verify the departmental account and who is calling before performing any changes. They will open an incident with the OIT Accounts Office, who will then suspend the account. If the account is needed again within 90 days, it may be reactivated with no data loss. After 90 days, the account data is unrecoverable.
Sponsored User Leaves the University or Is Terminated
The departing user and the unit who sponsored the account need to conduct an exit process to transfer any shared documents and websites that pertain to current business processes. This may include transferring ownership of shared documents to a faculty or staff member who will remain in the business unit. The account is then suspended. If the account needs to be reactivated within 90 days, all data is recoverable. Beyond 90 days the data is unrecoverable.
Sponsored Accounts Renewal
All sponsored accounts are only authorized on a short-term basis. This time period is established when the account is originally requested. Messaging and Identity Services will contact the original department sponsor for the account for confirmation whether the account should be renewed. If yes, no action is taken. if no, the account is suspended for 90 days then deleted. All questions for Messaging and Identity Services may be directed to email@example.com.
If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact the Technology Help Desk.