Autofiling & Trash Deletion

Auto-filing is a process that moves old messages from your Inbox, Trash or Sent folders to a new mail folder. Auto-filing does not delete your messages. You will still be able to read the messages that are auto-filed.

Benefits of Auto-filing

Inboxes 40 MB and larger tax University systems and slow the speed at which you can access your email. In order to best take advantage of email services, you should keep the size of your Inbox as low as possible.

Inbox Auto-filing

Any message in your Inbox that is more than 90 days old will be automatically filed out of your Inbox into a folder called "Auto-Filed". Messages will be arranged by the date they were received in subfolders named by year. For example, a message received to your Inbox 9/12/2009 will be filed in the folder called "2009" inside the Auto-Filed folder.

If you would prefer to file your messages yourself, you will have the opportunity to do so before the auto-filing occurs. If your Inbox is under 40MB at that time, the automatic filing will not occur.

Sent Folder Auto-filing and Trash Deletion

Sent and Trash folders containing messages older than 30 days also tax University systems and slow the speed at which you can access your email. In order to best take advantage of email services, the size of your Sent folder should be kept as low as possible.

Messages in your Sent folder older than 30 days automatically will be transferred to a folder named "Auto-filed," which appears in your folder directory. Messages are arranged by the date they were received, and are found in subfolders named by year. For example, a message received to your Sent folder Aug. 13, 2009 will be filed in the folder called "2009.Sent" inside the Auto-filed folder.

It is important to note that no email messages in your Sent folder will be deleted and that the filed emails are easily accessible with your current email client.

Please be aware that your Sent folder may be auto-filed regularly if it contains messages older than 30 days. If you would prefer that your Sent folder not be auto-filed, you should move messages into other folders yourself. If your Sent folder does not contain messages older than 30 days, the automatic filing will not occur.

You will receive an email notice the first time your Sent folder has been auto-filed only.

In the past, messages marked as Trash have been included in the auto-filing process. Beginning June 18, 2010, OIT no longer will auto-file email messages in Trash folders. Instead, all messages marked as trash older than 30 days will be deleted permanently.

Depending on the user’s software and configuration, this will include messages in folders with names such as Trash, Deleted Items, or Deleted Messages.

This practice will make available a significant amount of additional storage space and enhance system performance and user response time for our central email system. In addition, it will better align University practices with general best practices for email services followed by Google and service providers in the education and public sectors.

If you've been in the practice of storing important information in your Trash folder, it is recommended that you take this opportunity to go through those folders, move any messages that you need to keep into your inbox or other folders, and delete any unnecessary items. Once Trash email is deleted, it cannot be restored.